Language: DE | EN

Benefits

As a young consulting company, kleinkraft is flexible and highly available for you. Short noticed requests can be processed and conducted quickly and efficiently, without lengthy decision processes.
Through the utilization of energy efficiency measures and renewable energy, kleinkraft strengthens the competitiveness of its customers, providing the following benefits:

Reduction of costs

The utilization of energy efficiency and renewable energy directly saves costs in your company. Therefore, the profit margin of your company is increased and products can be offered at lower prices compared to your competitors.

kleinkraft helps its customers to identifiy energy efficiency and renewable energy measures.

Public funding

A public funding often makes the difference regarding the economic feasibility of an investment. In the area of energy efficiency and renewable energy, many public funding possibilities are available.

kleinkraft helps its customers in identifiying the fitting public funding programme for planned activities and measures.

CO2 reduction

Businesses and private persons more and more aim to purchase environmentally friendly products or services. Reducing CO2 emissions and actively contributing towards the energy transition is an investment in the future.

kleinkraft helps its customers to save CO2 emissions through energy efficiency measures and renwable energy integration, thus making the customers companies sustainable.

Public relations

Do good things and talk about them. Projects that improve the sustainability of production lines and companies are especially well suited for communication to the public. Indirect advertisement via awards and news articles, as well as via social media channels, results in the company being held in high esteem by the general public.

kleinkraft helps its customers with the application for awards and distributon of this indirect advertisement.

Legal compliance

Worldwide agreements aim to foster the global energy transition. Especially in Europe, new laws and regulations are expected within the next years. A first example for this is the energy efficiency law, which indirectly obliges companies to reduce energy consumption.

kleinkraft helps its customers adapt to these new laws and regulations, in a timely and cost-efficient manner.

Planning security

The future of energy prices and prices for CO2 certificates can be concerning for industrial companies. The utilization of energy efficient and renewable technology offers the possibility for long term planning with constant and predictable costs.

kleinkraft provides its customers with expert knowledge in utilizing these technologies.

Legal and regulatory framework

EU strategy to decarbonize the economy 2020, 2030, 2050
Until 2050 the EU aims to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions by 80-95%, compared to the reference year of 1990. This is to be achieved via the utilization of CO2 efficient technologies, renewable energy and grid infrastructure. Within the energy roadmap of the European Commission, seven scenarios for 2050 were calculated of the European Comission, with the following results:

  • The decarbonisation is technically and economically possible. In the long term, the earlier the decarbonisation starts, the more cost efficient it will be.
  • The utilization of renewable energy and energy efficiency measures is essential.
  • Early investments cost less in total.
  • Europe-wide collaboration is more cost efficient than national solutions

Until 2030 the greenhouse gas emissions are to be reduced by 40% in comparison to 1990, and a minimum share of 27% renewable energy, as well as a 27% increase in energy efficiency, is to be reached.
Until 2020 the greenhouse gas emissions are to be reduced by 20% in comparison to 1990 and a minimum share of 20% renewable energy, as well as a 20% increase in energy efficiency, is to be reached.

2050 Energy Strategy
2012 Energy Roadmap 2050
Strategies 2030
Europe 2020 Strategy

Energy efficiency law (until 2020)
The energy efficiency law of the Austrian government came into effect on January 1st, 2018. Via this law, the EU guideline 2012/27/EU is implemented, which means that the energy consumption in Austria is to be reduced by 20%. Additional objectives are to increase the share of renewable energies in the energy mix, as well as reduce the emission of greenhouse gases.

The law obliges energy suppliers, starting 2015, to reduce the energy amount by 25 GWh every year. This amounts to 0.6% of the energy production during the year 2017. Of this energy reduction, 40% has to be achieved at private households, 60% at companies. The energy suppliers can choose to self-implement these measures or to buy energy efficiency measures from third parties. In this way, energy savings are defined as measures which reduce the energy consumption in comparison to the original situation. If an energy supplier does not achieve this requirement, the supplier has to pay a compensation penalty of 20 cent per kWh.

As a consequence, the energy efficiency law of 2015 obliges big companies to think about their energy situation. To fulfil the requirements of the law, companies need to perform external energy audits or to implement environment or energy management systems.

Currently, new goals for reducing CO2 emissions and energy consumption, as well as increasing the share of renewable energies, are planned for the timeframe until 2030. (ref. EU strategy to decarbonize the economy 2020, 2030, 2050)

www.bmwfw.gv.at
www.monitoringstelle.at

Austrian Green Electricity Act and Renewable Energy Law
To minimize the greenhouse gas emissions and to foster technologies for renewable electricity production, in 2000, the Renewable Energy Law was implemented in Germany. This regulates the privileged feeding of renewable electricity into the grid and guarantees a fixed feed-in tariff per kWh. In the year 2002, Austria followed suit and implemented the Austrian Green Electricity Act which is based on the German Renewable Energy Law.

Renewable energies are defined by this law defined as:

  • Photovoltaics
  • Wind
  • Geothermal
  • Energy from biomass including biogas, biomethane, landfill and sewage gas
  • Water power including wave and tide, salt gradient and current energy

The Renewable Energy Law, and also in reduced form the Austrian Green Electricity Act, were victims of their own success. Due to very attractive feed-in tariffs at the beginning, the extension of renewable energy was faster than planned. This resulted in dropping electricity prices. At the same time, the Renewable Energy Law financing share of costs was increased. Big companies profited from this development because they are exempt from the share of costs. Furthermore, decentralized electricity production resulted in an increased grid load. This happened because many base load and balancing power plants could not be operated economically anymore, due to the low electricity prices. As a consequence, energy security was endangered.

Due to this development there have been several amendments of the Renewable Energy Law, as well as of the Austrian Green Electricity Act. These amendments reduced feed-in tariffs – also because the technologies got cheaper due to economies of scale. In addition to the feed-in tariffs, the possibility of investment funding was implemented. As the technologies are getting cheaper constantly, it is expected that in the future renewable energy can be operated without the need for public funding. In contrast, it is worth mentioning that fossil fuels are also subject to high public funding.

CO2 emission trading system (CO2 certificates)
Future climate goals of the European Union focus on the reduction of the greenhouse gas CO2. Until 2050, 80% of the CO2 emissions are to be reduced. The emission trading system is the main instrument to reach this reduction goal. This is based on setting an upper bound for the allowed emissions of specific greenhouse gases, for strongly-emitting industrial sectors. This upper bound is lowered each year. For the allowed amount of emissions, certificates are distributed via auctions. A certificate allows the emission of one ton of CO2-equivalent, within the defined timeframe.

At the end of each year each company needs enough CO2 certificates to cover its own emissions. If the company does not have enough certificates, it has to pay a penalty of 100€ per certificate. Conversely, certificates which are not needed can be traded freely. The goal of this mechanism is to ensure that emission reductions are carried out where they are most cost-efficient.

ec.europa.eu

Language: DE | EN

Vorteile

Als junges Beratungsunternehmen ist kleinkraft flexibel für Sie verfügbar. Kurzfristige Anfragen können schnell und effizient ohne lange Entscheidungswege bearbeitet und erfolgreich durchgeführt werden.
Durch den Einsatz von Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen und erneuerbaren Energien stärkt kleinkraft die Konkurrenzfähigkeit seiner Kunden insbesondere über die folgenden Vorteile:

Kosteneinsparung

Durch Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen und den Einsatz von erneuerbaren Energien werden direkt Kosten für Ihr Unternehmen eingespart. Dadurch erhöht sich die Gewinnspanne und Produkte können kostengünstiger angeboten als bei der Konkurrenz.

kleinkraf hilft Ihnen bei der Identifizierung von sinnvollen Energieeffizienz Maßnahmen und bei der Integration von erneuerbaren Energien.

Förderung

Eine Förderung macht oft den Unterschied aus, ob eine Investition wirtschaftlich sinnvoll ist. Im Bereich Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien gibt es eine Vielzahl an Fördermöglichkeiten.

Es gibt die Möglichkeit von Investitionsförderungen bei denen ein gewisser Prozentsatz der Investitionssumme direkt zugeschossen wird, oder Förderungen für Entwicklungs- oder Forschungsprojekten aus denen neue Produkte, Verfahren oder Dienstleistungen entstehen.

CO2 Einsparung

Unternehmen und Privatpersonen legen immer mehr Wert darauf, umweltfreundliche Produkte und Dienstleistungen zu erwerben.

Über den Einsatz von Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen und erneuerbaren Energien und dem aktiven Vorantreiben an der Energiewende werden CO2 Emissionen eingespart und dadurch die Produktion oder der Betrieb nachhaltig.

Öffentlichkeitswirksam

Frei nach dem Motto „tue Gutes und rede darüber“. Insbesondere Projekte im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit in der Produktion und Betrieb können öffentlichkeitswirksam kommuniziert werden.

Indirekte Werbung über Auszeichnungen, Zeitungsartikel oder auch Social Media Kanäle schaffen es, dass ihr Unternehmen in der Öffentlichkeit einen positiven Eindruck hinterlässt.

Rechtssicherheit

Weltweit Vereinbarungen sind bemüht die Energiewende schneller voranzutreiben. Insbesondere in Europa kann mit zusätzlichen Gesetzen und Regulierungen in den nächsten Jahren gerechnet werden. Ein erstes Beispiel dafür ist das Energieeffizienzgesetz, welches indirekt Unternehmen verpflichtet Energie Einzusparen.

Kleinkraft ist am neuesten Stand und gibt Empfehlungen ab, wie sich seine Kunden bereits jetzt, frühzeitig, geplant und kosteneffizient auf diese zukünftigen Entwicklungen einstellen können.

Planungssicherheit

Die Entwicklung von Energiepreisen und Preise für CO2 Zertifikaten verunsichert Industriebetriebe. Der Einsatz von energieeffizienten und erneuerbaren Technologien ermöglicht eine langfristige und verlässliche Planung durch konstante und abschätzbare Kosten.

kleinkraft hilft seinen Kunden mit Expertenwissen bei der Nutzung dieser Technologien.

Rahmen­bedingungen

EU Strategie zur Dekarbonisierung der Wirtschaft 2020, 2030, 2050
Bis 2050 will die EU seine Treibhausgasemissionen um 80-95% im Vergleich zum Referenzjahr 1990 reduzieren. Dies soll über den verstärkten Einsatz von CO2 armen Technologien, erneuerbaren Energien, Energieeffizienz und Netzinfrastruktur erreicht werden. In der Energie Roadmap wurden 7 Szenarien für 2050 durchgerechnet, mit den folgenden Ergebnissen:

  • Die Dekarbonisierung ist technisch und wirtschaftlich machbar. Langfristig ist es kosteneffizienter so bald wie möglich mit der Dekarbonisierung zu beginnen.
  • Der Einsatz von erneuerbaren Energien und Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen ist essentiell.
  • Frühzeitige Investitionen kosten insgesamt weniger.
  • Eine Europaweite Zusammenarbeit ist insgesamt kosteneffizienter als nationale Lösungen.

Bis 2030 sollen die Treibhausgasemissionen um 40% im Vergleich zu 1990 sinken und ein Mindestanteil von 27% erneuerbaren Energien und 27% Verbesserung bei der Energieeffizienz erreicht werden.
Bis 2020 sollen die Treibhausgasemissionen um 20% im Vergleich zu 1990 sinken und ein Mindestanteil von 20% erneuerbaren Energien und 20% Verbesserung bei der Energieeffizienz erreicht werden.

2050 Energy Strategy
2012 Energy Roadmap 2050
Strategies 2030
Europe 2020 Strategy

Energieeffizienzgesetz (bis 2020)
Das Energieeffizienzgesetz des Bundes trat mit dem 01. Jänner 2015 in Kraft. Das Gesetz setzt die EU-Richtlinie 2012/27/EU um und soll bis 2020 durch die Umsetzung energieeffizienter Maßnahmen den Energieverbrauch in Österreich um 20% reduzieren. Weitere Ziele sind die Erhöhung des Anteiles erneuerbarer Energien im Energiemix sowie die Verminderung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Das Gesetz verpflichtet Energielieferanten ab 2015 eine jährlich abgesetzte Energiemenge von 25 GWh, das heißt Effizienzmaßnahmen im Ausmaß von 0,6% des jeweiligen Vorjahresenergieabsatzes zu setzen. 40% der Einsparverpflichtung müssen im privaten Bereich und 60% bei Unternehmen umgesetzt werden. Der Energielieferant hat die Möglichkeiten, die Maßnahmen selbst durchzuführen, sich einer Branchenverpflichtung anzuschließen, oder die Verpflichtung durch Dritte erfüllen zu lassen, indem er zum Beispiel die Effizienzmaßnahmen von Betrieben zukauft. Als Energieeinsparung werden Maßnahmen bezeichnet, welche den Energieverbrauch im Vergleich zur Ausgangssituation verringern. Wenn ein Lieferant seinen Verpflichtungen nicht anderweitig nachkommt, hat er Ausgleichszahlungen von mindestens 20 Cent pro kWh zu leisten.

Das 2015 verabschiedete Energieeffizienzgesetz verpflichtet dadurch große Unternehmen, sich mit Energiefragen auseinanderzusetzen. Um den dadurch entstehenden Verpflichtungen nachzukommen, müssen Unternehmen externe Energieaudits durchführen lassen oder ein Umwelt- oder Energiemanagementsystem implementieren.

Derzeit sind neue Ziele zur Energie- und CO2 Einsparung sowie zum Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien bis 2030 geplant. (siehe EU Strategie zur Dekarbonisierung der Wirtschaft 2020, 2030, 2050)

www.bmwfw.gv.at
www.monitoringstelle.at

Ökostromgesetz und Erneuerbaren Energien Gesetz (EEG)
Um die Treibhausgasemissionen zu minimieren und die Entwicklung von Technologien für die erneuerbare Stromerzeugung zu unterstützen wurde 2000 das EEG in Deutschland eingeführt. Dieses regelt die bevorzugte Einspeisung von erneuerbaren Strom in die Stromnetze und garantiert eine feste Einspeisevergütung pro eingespeister Kilowattstunde. Im Jahr 2002 setzte Österreich seine Variante des EEG, das Ökostromgesetz, welches stark an dem EEG orientiert ist um.

Erneuerbare Energien sind definiert als:

  • Photovoltaik
  •  Windenergie
  •  Geothermie
  • Energie aus Biomasse inklusive Biogas, Biomethan, Deponiegas und Klärgas
  • Wasserkraft inklusive Wellen- Gezeiten-, Salzgradienten- und Strömungsenergie

Das EEG ebenso in geringerem Maß das Ökostromgesetz war Opfer seines großen Erfolges. Da zu Beginn äußerst attraktive Einspeisepreise geboten wurden schritt der Ausbau schneller voran als erwartet, wodurch die Stromkosten auf einen Tiefstand fielen, die EEG-Umlage mit welcher die Einspeisetarife finanziert wurde jedoch stark stieg. Große Unternehmen profitieren davon, da sie meist von der EEG-Umlage ausgenommen sind. Durch die dezentrale Stromproduktion kam es weiter zu einer verstärkten Netzbelastung. Außerdem können nun viele Grundlast- und Ausgleichskraftwerke bei den niedrigen Strompreisen kaum mehr wirtschaftlich betrieben werden, wodurch die Ausfallsicherheit gefährdet ist.

Aufgrund dieser Entwicklungen gab es mehrere Novellen sowohl des EEG als auch des Ökostromgesetzes, in welchen die Einspeisetarife stufenweise reduziert wurden – auch da die Technologien durch den wachsenden Markt kostengünstiger wurden. Ebenfalls wurde zusätzlich zu den Einspeisetarifen die Möglichkeit eines Investitionszuschusses eingeführt. Die Technologien werden weiter laufend kostengünstiger, wodurch erwartet wird, dass erneuerbare Energien zukünftig ohne Förderungen wirtschaftlich betrieben werden können. Dazu ist aber zu erwähnen, dass auch fossile Energieträger hoch gefördert werden (siehe Blogartikel).

Emissionszertifikatehandel der EU (CO2-Zertifikate)
Zukünftige Klimaziele der EU fokussieren sich auf die Einsparung des Treibhausgases CO2. Bis 2050 sollen 80% der CO2-Emissionen reduziert werden. Der Emissionszertifikatehandel stellt eines der wichtigsten Instrumente zum Erreichung dieses Reduktionszieles dar. Das Instrument beruht auf dem Setzen einer Obergrenze für die erlaubte Emission bestimmter Treibhausgasen, von welcher stark-emittierende Industriesektoren betroffen sind. Dieses Limit wird jährlich reduziert. Für die erlaubte Menge werden Zertifikate durch Allokation und durch Auktion verteilt. Ein Zertifikat berechtigt zur Emission von einer Tonne CO2-Äquivalent innerhalb der zeitlich festgelegten Verpflichtungsperiode.

Am Ende jedes Jahres muss eine Firma ausreichend Zertifikate vorweisen können, um damit die entstandenen Emissionen abzudecken. Ist das dem Unternehmen nicht möglich, müssen Strafzahlungen in der Höhe von 100 Euro pro fehlendem Zertifikat geleistet werden. Zertifikate, die nicht benötigt werden, dürfen frei gehandelt werden. Auf diese Weise soll sichergestellt werden, dass jene Emissionseinsparungsmaßnahmen mit den geringsten Kosten umgesetzt werden.

ec.europa.eu